Yosemite National Park: a unique destination in the world!

28 May 2019 - Written by Caroline Le Pichon

Yosemite is one of the jewels of the United States. This region in the centre of the Sierra Nevada extends over nearly 3081km², making it the 3rd largest nature park in California. With its breath-taking landscapes, waterfalls and giant Sequoias, go on an adventure in one of the most beautiful places in the world.

 

Its diversity earned it a UNESCO World Heritage Site in 1984.

Come and discover this magical place: there are 1287km of hiking trails. You can also ride a bike, or ride a horse to admire the magical colours of this park. In winter, it is even possible to ski there!

In the evening, sit back and watch the stars in a setting that is unique in the world. It is very likely that you will be awakened by some wolf cries. Don’t worry, the rangers are not far away!

  • Cliffs and mountains

Among the most famous cliffs is the Half Dome, with a breath-taking view of the entire valley. Glacier Point dominates the valley from a height of 975 metres.

El Capitan has a 900-metre high wall, making it the highest cliff in the world. It took 47 days for 3 British people to climb this wall for the first time, in 1958! Today, experienced climbers from all over the world come to try to climb this granite rock.

 

  • Giant Redwoods

The park has three very old groves of giant Sequoias. Giant redwoods are among the rarest and oldest organisms living on Earth, so they are an emblematic species.

While walking through the Mariposa grove, you will meet, among 500 other specimens, the oldest tree in the world, the 2700-year-old Grizzly Giant.

  • Waterfalls

Yosemite is home to several hundred waterfalls, including one of the largest in the world: Yosemite Falls, 740 metres high. The most spectacular ones appear during the melting of snow and glaciers in the spring.

Horsetail Fall, is one of the most extraordinary: it has the particularity of giving the illusion of a cascade of fire, with the rays of the sun. It is a very rare natural phenomenon, because it can only be seen 20 days a year, in winter.

  • Hinterland Who’s Who

Yosemite Park is also home to more than 250 species of animals: fish, rabbits, bats, pumas…

The most emblematic animal in the park is the brown bear: its population is estimated at about 300 to 500 individuals. They became famous by repeatedly seizing tourists’ meals. So, it is very likely that you will encounter some on the road.

So, what are you waiting for to jump on a bus and visit this splendid place?

12-days trip from San Francisco

Next departure on July 12, 2019

Other departures on 06 September or 21 October

For more information click here

Yosemite National Park : une destination unique au monde !

31 mai 2019 - Écrit par Caroline Le Pichon

Yosemite est un des joyaux des Etats-Unis. Cette région située au centre de la Sierra Nevada s’étale sur près de 3081km², ce qui en fait le 3e plus grand parc naturel de Californie. Avec ses paysages à couper le souffle, ses chutes d’eaux ou encore ses Séquoias géants, partez à l’aventure dans l’un des plus beaux endroits au monde.

 

Sa diversité lui a valu d’être classé au patrimoine mondial de l’UNESCO en 1984.

Venez découvrir ce lieu magique : il existe 1287km de sentiers de randonnée. Vous pouvez également enfourcher un vélo, ou monter à cheval pour admirer les couleurs féériques de ce parc. L’hiver, il est même possible d’y faire du ski !

Le soir, installez-vous pour observer les étoiles dans un cadre unique au monde. Il est très probable que vous soyez réveillé par quelques cris de loups. Ne vous inquiétez pas, les rangers ne sont pas loin !

  • Falaises et montagnes

Parmi les falaises les plus célèbres, on y retrouve le Half Dome, disposant d’une vue imprenable sur toute la vallée. Le Glacier Point, quant à lui, domine la vallée de 975 mètres de hauteur.

El Capitan offre une paroi de 900 mètres de haut, ce qui en fait la plus haute falaise entière du monde. Il a fallu 47 jours à 3 britanniques pour escalader cette paroi pour la première fois, en 1958 ! Aujourd’hui, des grimpeurs aguerris du monde entier viennent tenter d’escalader ce rocher granitique.

 

  • Séquoias Géants

Le parc possède trois bosquets de Sequoias géants très anciens. Les Séquoias géants sont parmi les plus rares et anciens organismes vivant sur Terre, c’est donc une espèce emblématique.

En se baladant dans le bosquet Mariposa, vous rencontrerez, parmi 500 autres spécimens, l’arbre plus vieux du monde, le Grizzly Giant, âgé de 2700 ans.

  • Chutes d’eau

Yosemite abrite plusieurs centaines de chutes d’eau, dont l’une des plus grandes au monde : la Yosemite Falls, cumulant 740 mètres de hauteur. Les plus spectaculaires apparaissent lors de la fonte des neiges et des glaciers, au printemps.

Horsetail Fall, est l’une des plus extraordinaires : elle a la particularité de donner l’illusion d’une cascade de feu, avec les rayons du soleil. C’est un phénomène naturel très rare, car on ne peut l’apercevoir que 20 jours dans l’année, en hiver.

  • Faune et flore

Le parc de Yosemite abrite également plus de 250 espèces d’animaux : poissons, lapins, chauves-souris, pumas…

L’animal le plus emblématique du parc est l’ours brun : on estime sa population d’environ 300 à 500 individus. Ils sont devenus célèbres en s’emparant à maintes reprises des repas des touristes. Ainsi, il est fort probable que vous en croisiez sur la route.

Alors, qu’attendez-vous pour sauter dans un bus et visiter ce lieu splendide ?

Parcours de 12 jours au départ de San Francisco

Prochain départ le : 12 juillet 2019

Autres départs le 06 septembre ou le 21 octobre

Pour plus d’informations cliquez ici